Naan

Bread comes in different forms in different parts of the world.

I’ve never had much success with flatbread. I can’t say this was a total reversal of my luck, but I’m making progress. I fiddled with this recipe a lot, so the ratio I ended up with is cumbersome: 22 ounces of flour to 15 ounces of dairy. A lot of this will hinge on the type of yogurt that you use. Runnier yogurt or a ratio that favors more milk will obviate the need for more liquid. I used about a 3:1 ratio yogurt to milk, without stopping to track exactly how much of each I used. The dough looked stiff, so I kneaded in more yogurt to thin it out a bit.

Traditionally, naan is cooked in an insanely hot brick oven for just a few minutes, much like a traditional pizza. My landlord would probably complain if I built a brick oven on my patio, so I made do with a conventional electric oven. The best thing you can do is to use a heavy cast iron pan or pizza stone and let it heat up as the oven preheats. This will make sure that heat transfers to the naan as fast as reasonably possible.

Like all good bread, naan has neigh unlimited serving options. Half the dough I used to make a chicken tikka pizza, and the other half I used to serve shahi paneer (with homemade paneer).

Naan

Ingredients

  • 22oz flour
  • 2 tsp yeast
  • salt, to taste
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 15oz dairy (yogurt or whole milk)
  • butter

Directions

  1. In a bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Add the dairy and combine until everything comes together.
  2. Turn onto a floured surface and knead for 5 minutes.
  3. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise for 1.5-2 hours in a warm place.
  4. Place a large cast-iron skillet  on the center rack of the oven. Preheat oven to 475°F, or as hot as you dare turn it up to.
  5. Divide the dough into six pieces. Roll each piece out thin.
  6. Drop a 1/2 Tbsp of butter into the cast iron pan, and allow to melt. Place the naan on the pan and bake for two minutes per side. Serve warm.
Leave a Reply

