Pancakes, Reimagined

A few days ago, I had a thought, “What if I made really thick pancakes? The kind of pancakes that could take the place of a whole stack of pancakes.”

Well, why not try?

A little research lead me to Japanese Hotcakes. As always, the food world is hard to get ahead of. But I don’t have any tiny ring molds. I try to avoid buying one-off kitchen tools. And I didn’t have any spare cardboard and a stapler to make a quick substitute. And besides, bigger is better, right? Why not make one giant hotcake?

I decided to use a similar batter as the hotcakes, but I would bake it instead of frying it. It turned out… pretty much how I expected it to, I guess. For once, I had pancakes that were more cake than pan. Soak them in some real Michigan maple syrup, and we have ourselves a keeper!

reimagined-pancakes.jpg

Reimagined Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg plus one egg white
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 Tbsp butter

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F.
  2. In a mixing bowl, beat together the milk, egg, vanilla and sugar. Stir in the dry ingredients. This should turn out pretty much identical to your usual pancake batter.
  3. In a small but tall saucepot over medium heat, melt the butter. Rotate the pot so that the butter gets up the sides.
  4. Pour the batter into the pot, cover with a lid and immediately transfer to the oven. Bake for 35-45 minutes or until cooked through completely.
  5. Cut into wedges and serve with jam and syrup.
Leave a Reply

